Posted in Spirit animals

Bear – Spirit Animal

It’s Monday and time to join Roda’s critter challenge. I actually work today so I’m lucky that I got to spot a special critter during my outing last week. I had submitted a picture of Luna, thinking I wasn’t going to find some noteworthy critter and then it happened at the end of the day.

Dusk fell over the short days that definitely mark winter time as we made our way back. We weren’t on the road long as we noticed something (a few somethings) tumble across the road up ahead. Every second was of the essence as I squinted to confirm what I thought I was seeing. My heart was pounding as adrenaline pumped through my veins with such excitement that I jumped out of the car, left the car door wide open, I didn’t care, and started to chase after the three brown lumps that had by now crossed the road and disappeared downhill into a ravine. A second later I spotted Mama Bear cross the river below and her two cubs were in close tow behind her. I stood and watched them safely reach the other side and crawl straight up the hillside as if it was no big deal. They are excellent climbers and despite their clumsy looking nature, they are pretty agil and quick. I wouldn’t want to be chased by one, although that thought really never crossed my mind and I never had a problem with a bear. They usually want nothing to do with us unless they feel cornered or threatened. Luckily I have never come up on one by surprise and there was no need to feel alienated. If I could, I would give them a big bear hug, hence, pun intended. Bears are my favorite animal and resemble much of my own wild spirit. Strong, wild and free is how I see them, and if I had a Spirit Animal, a bear would probably have a strong presence in my chart. Seeing any animal in the wild is always a bonus, but this was definitely very special and it’s been a long time since my last bear encounter. I was elated and the day ended discussing this huge highlight all the way Home, and beyond. I had the hardest time not to share this with you, and I have been carrying this secret for a week now. Phew, am I relieved now that it is finally out even though the thrill was worn a bit.

Of course you don’t get to see these guys in the wild every day, so there had to be a message that came with the sighting and here is how it translates to when a bear crosses your path.

Bear is here to provide strengths in challenging times when we feel helpless or weak. Bear encourages us to stay the path and muster the courage to deal with difficult situations. Bear is definitely up to the challenge and if you have been swallowing your words, bear is here to remind you to stay true to your vision without compromise. Bear may also ask us to take on an authoritative role, not only in our own life but also when it comes to guiding others. Wow, it’s truly amazing and crazy at the same time and I feel I had a few moments like these recently. When you think of the height and weight of a bear, it simply demands respect. This is not the time to “play dead” but it is the time to engage and make things happen.

I’m sorry for the poor quality of the pictures. Dark lighting didn’t help and these guys don’t exactly sit there and lose until you got your shot, but I still hope you can enjoy this. Until next time…

Author:

We are the co-creators of our life and the time is now. More than ever are we needed to support Mother Earth and each other. Together we discover and explore our unique gifts in times of strengths, in times we lean on each other, and in times when we learn from each other. This blog started as an outlet and what I ultimately called my “Warriors Journey.” It was a way to document the ups and downs of my life, sharing my hardships as well as my successes. It showcased the struggles, but more important the ways of how to overcome them. Although we are warriors each and every day, I realized that having to be a warrior, comes from a place of pain. I decided to rename this blog, and “Phoenix Rising” now stands for the story of overcoming such a painful place. My motivation for this blog hasn’t changed and I hope to share inspiration and hope, to create a sense of belonging, a space of being heard, and connecting with like minded beings who instill a sense of oneness. We are never alone, and we are unstoppable in the pursuit of what sets our soul on fire. Who I am in a nutshell... 
I am an energy healer and Reiki Master. I am surviving a chronic disease that I’ve sent into remission three times since my initial bout, 15 years ago. I continuously challenge the status quo and by doing so I change my stars. I am a believer that anything is possible. I am a hopeless romantic and I believe that true love exists on various levels. I am an optimist that will always see the glass as half full. I am a dreamer, believing in endless possibilities. Not even the sky is the limit. I have jumped off of the hamster wheel, and I am writing a new chapter. I am chasing my Nirvana to support my most authentic self. This is my story, I am that Phoenix and I am rising from the ashes. Namaste 🙏🏼💙🦋

12 thoughts on “Bear – Spirit Animal

Leave a comment