Posted in Hiking, Inspiration

The trail provides

A thru hiker would tell you that the trail provides and always miraculously lets you stumble upon exactly what you need. Sometimes it might me in the form of “Trail magic” that could be anything from a left behind ice chest with cold drinks for passerby’s, to people living near the trail providing a home cooked meal or even shelter. Perhaps it can be found in the form of other essential items that are missed while being on a long distance hike, things we often take for granted in our day to day life’s. Never having done a long distance thru hike, I have definitely dreamed about it and my friendship with a thru hiker has fueled my passion to consider such even though it most likely will have to be under my own terms due to rheumatoid arthritis and chronic pain. I have a backup plan though and I know that I will have my own story to write in this adventure when the time comes. 

I have backpacked and engage in frequent/weekly day hikes. I have not found any trail magic in the form of ice chests and BBQ’s along the way, but I probably could if I hiked the right section of the PCT (Pacific crest trail) that runs through my neighborhood. Still I have found plenty of magic on the trail and I too would tell you that the trail provides. It has healed me in many ways and has been a place of balance, solitude and where I go to recharge my batteries. It has bestowed me with countless feelings of awe that took my breath away, given me a sense of accomplishment to feel proud about and opened my eyes to what truly matters. It has pushed me and kicked me in the rear at times and I would respond with “No pain, no gain”. You just have to put in the work for some things and nothing in life is free, so if you want the view that you can’t drive up to, well than you need to put in the work. I found love on the trail in too many forms to mention and I’m filled to the rim with an appreciation for all the beauty that I have been allowed to see. The trail provides and I made this little project that has been inspired from the trail providing in a different sense.

“The finished project of what the trail provided”

I found the “L” as the first letter on the trail a few weeks back and a vision came to life. I knew right way what I was looking for and what the trail was trying to tell me. I found the “O” the same day and half of my search was complete. On the next hike in the same area I found the “V” and it is a beautiful fact that I found the letters in the order they find their place in the word “Love”. I knew the “E” would be the most difficult to find and it took three more hikes all to same area to finally find it. I knew the moment I saw it that it was the one and my vision was complete. I’m amazed by the sequence of the letters and the order they were found, as well as their sizes all matching and being a fit within the first attempt. I never found another letter that didn’t match in size and all were the original finds.

“Finding the final letter”

The trail provides and this was a reminder that it has provided me with much love during my journey of peace and finding myself. It’s just a few twigs and parts of branches some would say, yet is has the meaning of some great treasure to me that touches my heart. It’s a part of my journey to nourish my soul, mend the troubles and learn to let go of the things that no longer serve me. And to me it will always have a much higher meaning than just a few pieces of cheap wood. It’s metaphorical and another sign from the universe.

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

18 thoughts on “The trail provides

      1. It would have to go into a shadow box since it is raised and the twigs are not flat. Right now it is on that canvas that I painted in earth times and I have some wire I want to bend as a hanger. We will see. 😉.
        Thanks for the idea, great suggestion

        Like

Leave a Reply

