Posted in Hiking, Mother nature

A June Summer hike

I’ve been eyeing this hike for awhile now. An annual favorite, to do over and over as long as the season permits it, it’s a place I visit every year and it’s one of the many I call my favorite. The scenery is spectacular and made of mountains, wild peaks and dotted alpine lakes galore. It’s pristine, plus a few of my favorite spirit animals are usually easily to be found there, adding to the experience by giving it an extra bonus. What’s not to love about this place? These reasons alone are a huge part as to why I give thanks and feel lucky to live within an hour of such beauty. And still, it’s not the only reasons and I have to include the ambience and the vibe I get from this place and how it makes me feel. It’s serene, majestic and nourishing to my spirit. I can feel the calm cover my soul as if I was wrapped in a warm, soothing blanket. It’s a place where all hectic ends and peace is restored, where I can breathe and not worry about a thing. Where I can marvel in the endless beauty and lose myself. It’s a place where I’m restored, a place that ends the turmoil within while satisfying your inner tranquility as if you had giving into some of your deepest of cravings. The sense you experience when you feed your body with healthy food, when you take that first big gulp of milk right out of the jug after craving it’s taste and being unable to wait to pour a glass. It’s the orange juice you have been missing for so long, the moment you walk out of work and know vacation has officially started. It’s things like that and I find them simply marvelous as they resemble pure magic to me. I love it….

And here we were, on the way to that very place that could be all of these things to me and stir all of these emotions.
The heavy winter made it impossible to go visit until about two weeks ago and even then I was unsure if we would make it up to the lake due to snow. The Jeep was the only car at the trail head parking lot, an unusual sight to be cherished as this would change quickly in a few weeks. Even so, it never gets too crowded in this wide open space and we have a few special places that we usually can claim to ourselves without interruptions. The tiny creek at the beginning of the trail was as full as I have ever seen it. Filled to the top of the crossing, it was threatening to spill over the soft mossy grass that was fully saturated with moisture. One obstacle down and surely there would be more to come during the ascend to Long Lake. The trail was beginning to climb but felt effortlessly to me. It had not always been the case and I credited this success to a combination of getting stronger over the years and pure adrenaline propelling me forward. I was determined and I wanted to make it all the way up. Prior struggles in the beginning of my hiking days seemed to be a thing of the past, no longer making me pause while trying to catch my breath. I didn’t stop once but instead found my pace and steadily kept climbing. Little streams, waterfalls and new lakes had formed everywhere with water shooting down from above. The trail appeared to be swallowed up by winter and in large part it was washed away. After conquering an obstacle course filled with fallen trees, ponds and alternate routes, we hit the snow line and it was amazing how much snow had remained and hadn’t melted yet. We decided to bushwhack of the beaten path that was currently invisible and took a new route with sunnier exposures in the hopes of encountering less snow and being able to summit all the way up to the lake. 

It was spectacular, with new, never before seen angles of the area, new rock formations and a couple of deers that looked at us as if they were surprised to see us of the usual trail. Calm, they never got spooked and accepted us as one of their own, slowly walking past us within a short distance, carrying on to whatever location was calling their name. I spotted a marmot sunbathing on top of a huge rock pile overlooking the land, but I never got a good picture of it. I was smiling in the comfort of seeing them around as this would fill the day with possibilities of potentially spotting these furry little Critters once more. 

The trail continued to climb and we found ourselves again in the snow. It was impossible to escape with the climbing trail and it was in,y a matter of time to encounter it again. Tree trunks were buried in several feet of snow, but luckily the snow was pretty packed which was a relief for me and my phobia of sinking into a deep crevice and getting stuck. Ahead was one big glacial ice field that was spread out in front. The snow was shimmering blue as we passed some deep cracks and pushed on towards the lake. And then it happened. We had reached the rim above the lake and a still frozen, snow covered lake nestled into a rock granite bowl was lying at our feet. We’ve made it for the first time this year. All feelings described in this post caught up with me ten fold over as it was also my first time seeing the lake in all its winter wonderland glory. We spotted a great sun bathing ridge and the canopy of a giant tree within a short distance. That was it, picture perfect and the ultimate hang out spot for the entire day. Life was good during those moments sitting under the branches of the old faithful giant, bent from the wind but standing strong and firmly grounded. And we decided to stay for awhile….

Xo 💙

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

14 thoughts on “A June Summer hike

Leave a Reply

