Posted in Inspiration, Spirit animals

Lizard – Spirit Animal 

We didn’t hike much during my last day off, but instead we went on a little drive in the country. Like so many other times before, we drove the Gold Lakes Highway and I swear there is something special about this area. It’s a quick escape from the city and the noise, to find yourself surrounded by pristine wilderness and alpine lakes. We drove it so many times that we know every turn, every trail that branches off and every mile is associated with special memories. As so many times before we were about to come around that last bend. One more turn and out of nowhere the spectacular view of the Sierra Buttes, visible for the first time and prior hidden in the woods would greet us and astonish us with their beauty. There was one last look at each other, filled with unspoken words yet a silent understanding of “Are you ready for this” was filling the air as the Jeep rolled toward magnificence. The view was like always, breathtaking, almost unreal looking. Most of the surrounding area was hilly besides these huge granite peaks that violently escaped the landscape and commanded the viewers utmost attention.  


“Buttes rising in the distance”  
Arriving at Salmon Lake, the lake was still covered with snow and ice as we quickly made our way up a huge rock pile that would offer a spectacular view of both, the lake and the Sierra Buttes. It didn’t take long to scout out a spot suitable for napping and relaxing. In pursuit, I had a little brush in with a pine branch that ended up poking me in the eye. Not the best feeling and it left a bloody red mark inside the white area of my left eye. For two days it felt as if I had got punched in the eye and luckily all disappeared without further problems. After our picnic, eating half of our sandwich and enjoying the warm sun, it was time for a nap. I was laying on my side, head on my back back and I was almost asleep until for no apparent reason I opened my eyes. Within inches from my face I saw something long, brown slithering by which initially scared the living daylights out of myself and everybody else. Instinctively I jumped back to get some distance as my brain was instilling images of what it made out of being a snake. I never saw where it disappeared to or what it was, but a minute later it revealed itself. Crawling out from underneath a rock. it was the longest lizard I have ever seen in the wild. Alone the tail was longer than any other lizard I have encountered before. There it sat, “Thin Lizzy” (yes I named it), looking at me for a moment before he came up right next to me, sitting besides me as if I wasn’t there. They usually scramble away from people, but not this one, it just stayed there for awhile before he walked on and eventually disappeared in the cracks of another rock pile. The incident stuck with me and even though I have seen many lizards before, none ever came that close and just hung out with me. There was a message in this sighting and sure enough, later on at home I discovered that lizards are spirit animals. 

Lizard symbolism means that you have the ability to consciously tap into your intuition and higher knowledge. (No kidding, as I felt my intuition stronger lately, it left me with knowing and seeing things nobody else seemed to see. Once again not always a blessing but an insight or heads up if you will for sure). Allow yourself to use these traits to move forward it suggested. The other things that stood out from the message was to take time to follow your dreams. It was said that alternatively the lizard was letting you know that you have become caught up in the drudgery of life and perhaps you have forgotten to dream. It was time to dream again and imagine a new reality for yourself. To realize that the only way to break away form current situations, is to remember that all things new are born in dreams. Lizard was also reminding that we have hidden gifts and that it is up to us to use those hidden gifts for our own well being. To use the ability to remove ourselves from the danger and harm when the situation calls for. 

A truly powerful message that kept my mind occupied for days. What followed can only be described as spiritual enlightenment when it comes to the message this little guy was carrying. There he was, sitting next to me while staring at me as if he was asking “What happened to your dreams, are you going to remember to dream again?” I was thinking back to all the spiritual messages and signs I had seen over the past years. Things I can’t explain, but feel very strongly about, things I’m absolutely sure about and yet I fail to completely execute what’s next. One thing is shaping more and more for sure, that is if I’m given the time to see it come to fruition. I can’t say that I remember my dreams while sleeping but I dream the way I prefer to dream. With eyes wide open, I’m dreaming big and the pictures are more vivid and clearer then ever. Right after the lizard incident one such vivid dream came to me mind, a huge one indeed as if seeing through the looking glass into the future. A future that (after a hurdle of other things) might have me call a converted school bus my new home. 

Picture of another lizard I took near Mount Shasta. The one that scared me was much much bigger because he had a big message to deliver. 

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

6 thoughts on “Lizard – Spirit Animal 

  1. I’m going back to this post because something happened. Since I started reading about Spirit Animals on your blog, I have tried to be more aware.
    Nothing had happened until today. The animal was a spider. It is significant because usually, at this time of year, they are everywhere but they have been absent. It’s the second one, in a very short span of days, walking on me. I was writing, sitting on my garden swing, when I felt it on my leg. I stopped and observed it. I’m not scared of spiders and find them fascinating.
    It wasn’t big but it wasn’t the smallest. It stopped many times and took a defensive position, raising the front legs. I never felt threatened and waited for it to find its way off me.
    I immediately researched it. It seems it can have a dark interpretation but because I wasn’t scared nor attacked it, it can’t be the dark meaning.
    I would interpret that life is asking me to be patient, like a hunting spider, and letting me know I weave my own future, while also instigating creativity.
    Isn’t that amazing? If you could check I got it right, I would be very grateful. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. That is amazing and you do got it right with your interpretation. The spider is associated with female creative energy and I had one visit me this morning as well. What a coincidence…or maybe we are experiencing some of the same steps on this path of creating and weaving a new life for ourselves.
      It makes me happy that you took something away from my spirit animal posts and I feel honored that it raised your awareness. It’s just like you pointed out and when these animals appear out of the ordinary that should make you pause and question what the message is here. You did fabulous and I’m proud of you my friend. I can’t wait to hear who visits you next, because now that your awareness is raised, you will notice others. 😘

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

