Mount Shasta

After our stop at Burney Falls  in May of last year, our trip continued to the town of Mount Shasta. It was a scenic little drive through the country as we would call it, winding through forests and beautiful meadows. The occasional wildlife made a few appearances and I have to admit that I always get nervous driving through the woods. As beautiful as it is, I’m always on the lookout for deer or something else running out in front of the car. I don’t want to hit or hurt anything, I don’t even want to see prior incidents and the remains left at the side of the road. It always breaks my heart and I love animals and they are a big part of my life. But there were also a few funnies along the way and I’m talking about the things that you don’t see every day such as a sign that was tied to the end of a driveway. Believe me when I say that it was no ordinary sign and it was attached to a locked gate that seemed to disappear into a thick overgrown area of bushes and brush. All you could see was “Jungle” and who knew what was behind that gate. I caught a glimpse of the sign driving by and it said to “Keep out, Ammo is expensive, no warning shots will be fired”. A brief look at each other followed, confirming that we all had seen it and that it was indeed real what we thought that we had seen. I’m not sure if it was the actual sign or just the dumb look on our faces that triggered what followed, but we laughed and we laughed hard, even though this could be serious for someone caught in the wrong moment. It would be no laughing matter getting shot at and you wouldn’t find me even considering crossing that gate. I’d hate to be the mailman for sure and you’d probably see me throwing the mail over the barricade and run as fast as I can. I wouldn’t hang around to find out what’s behind creepy driveway #1 and I definitely wouldn’t give someone a reason to shoot at me. It was kind of spooky and honestly it felt strange that such a message was displayed in broad daylight and in clear sight for everyone. I guess that was the point and it was on private property to do with as they pleased. Still…..
From a distance Mount Shasta came into view. Huge and massive, covered in snow it seemed so close, almost close enough to touch. But is was still far away and it was just the mountains size that was dominating the landscape ahead of us. I remember how surprised I was that it took yet another hour of driving until we finally reached both, Mount Shasta the volcano and Mount Shasta the town where we stayed. We checked into the KOA campground and had a beautiful, cozy little log cabin cottage. It was homey and perfect, besides the plastic slipcover sheets that covered the mattress on the bed. Plastic doesn’t allow anything to breathe and it got hot a few times. I didn’t think that it would bother me all that much, but in hindsight, I should have taken them off. Next time….

The mountain was directly behind our little cabin that nestled between a moderate grove of pine trees. The clouds were hanging low and the top of the mountain was covered. Veiled into a thick cloth of mystery, only the base was visible from our current location. It was beautiful and peaceful, serene and strong, and it left us begging for more. The only way to discover what was hidden from our view, was to get to higher grounds and above the cloud field. After a short drive, we were there and boy was it worth the effort as we were greeted by the warmth of the setting sun. We watched in awe, silent and stayed way beyond the sun illuminating the sky and setting the scene on fire. It was getting dark and nighttime fell before we tore ourselves away from the magnificent view that had captured our hearts while we fell in love with the mountain. It was the first time I took a deep breath in what seemed to have been forever. I felt serenity flood my veins and life was good and restored again. I was home and yet I didn’t have a single clue to what was happening to me at Mount Shasta and what was yet to come. A mystery that was yet to reveal itself.

8 thoughts on “Mount Shasta

Leave a Reply

