BASE jumping creepy crawlies

It must have been a picture of horror and disgust as I recall the day my biggest phobia was born. I was nine years old, standing in my room with my Dad who was about to remove one of the biggest spiders I had seen in my life up until then. Mind you that I was young then and everything appears jumbo sized when you are a child. But there it was, like a giant dark, dark, blackest of black blob, contrasting against my white walls. The body was huge with thick long legs on either side and it still gives me the chills just describing this scene. No way would I sleep in this room with the beast on the loose. I watched in horror as my Dad, Kleenex in hand stepped up on the chair to suffocate the creepy or at least remove it from my room. In slow motion I see his hands reach for the enormous creature but to no avail. The beast decides to BASE jump off of the wall, no safety net, no web, no nothing (I know I joke about this now, but this was actually absolute horror) and it lands on my head and in my hair. Horror is the only word that comes to mind, well…. maybe panic as well. Skipping all the details that followed, I had never seen anything like this, nor have I experienced anything like this since (Thank God) or heard of BASE jumping spiders. But it happened and the incident has left me traumatized ever since. I want nothing to do with spiders. I don’t want to grab them with tissue, kill them, step on them or else and if I would never had to see another, it would be perfect. Of course I had to deal with them on occasion and I always say that they take years off of my life if I have no other choice but to tend to them myself. 

Over the past few weeks I’m left to believe that some creep lives in my bedroom. I go to bed fine, but wake up with a bite somewhere, mostly the face or neck. It’s creeping me out that something is coming out of the dark to feed on me. I read that spiders or bugs don’t like apple cider vinegar and I have a shot glass full of it at my bedside but I’m not convinced it’s working as it should. It was quiet for a few days but they must have gotten passed it and new bites appeared. On to the next thing and spraying everything with peppermint essential oil last night I went. Spiders absolutely hate the smell of peppermint it said. Really, do spiders have noses, but at this point I’m willing to try anything as my own imagination of the sucker feeding on me is getting the best of me. I know I have seen too many horror movies and I don’t want to be an incubator for…..ok enough, I’m grossing myself out. 

So off I go and spray the entire room with peppermint last night. It smells so strong initially that I almost make myself gag and I feel an allergy attack coming on. I survive and go to bed shortly later, feeling at peace and relaxed after another horror vision of a train of marching spiders is leaving my bedroom and is vanishing from my mind. I sleep well, I think I did and I don’t recall anything. I wake up and there is a new bite on my right cheek. 

Conclusion: It was either a goodbye bite while marching away on the way out, or I really pissed it off now and it was showing me that it was after all stronger than the peppermint I sprayed to further aggravate it. 

Next step: Tearing the entire room apart as I fear that I won’t rest peacefully until then. 

Help….
PS. You understand that this will be one of the few posts that doesn’t have a picture. 

Oh and one more since we are on the subject and this will be the only time I talk about this. I watched a documentary once and they said that in order to address a phobia, you have to confront it head on. In other words, hold a tarantula in your hands and let it walk all over you. Mmmmh….NO THANK YOU.

7 thoughts on “BASE jumping creepy crawlies

    1. Thanks hahaha. No bed bugs for sure thank god and too early for mosquitoes. It always only one isolated bite when it does happen and if it was anything else you would think I have more bite marks. I will check into though and I’m glad you found this funny hahahahaha 😂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

