Posted in Holidays, Inspiration

In Bunnies we trust 

With the Easter weekend upon us, it’s easy for me to feel a little more homesick then usual. It’s always around the holidays that I miss the slowed down, laid back, celebrating and family embracing time even more. Home is where you make it, but it is the people in your life that make all the difference and today I’m missing my people from across the pond. As usual, I get sucked up in the hectic, and working in retail is not forgiving when it comes to the holidays. There is no time off and I’m usually making everybody else’s holiday, with little to no time left to enjoy it for myself. This year however, I plan on having my own little Easter celebration, even if it is a delayed one. I’m going back into time, to revisit my childhood days, to color and decorate my eggs and indulge in a few Easter childhood memories. Carelessly and silly, I already find myself giggling at the thought of it. I know that for a few hours I will enjoy the lightheartedness and the responsibility free feel that dates back to one of my earliest childhood memories and I might even bring the kite. A dragon that I never flew before. When it comes to Easter, I remember a few neat traditions in Germany, when we decorate the many fragile egg shells, which are blown out eggs, adorned with ribbons, felt, beads and what not. Just like Christmas ornaments, the eggs would hang from a few branches, kept in a centerpiece like vase if inside, or they could be used to decorate an entire tree or bush outside. It’s a sight to behold as you drive through the country and spot the neatly decorated trees along with other landmarks such as decorated Well’s or fences. “Osterhasen” (Easter bunnies) are never too far off and add to that special feel of the festivities. 

In addition to Christmas markets which sprout up in December, Germany has Easter markets with outside booths and vendors who line the roads and sell their goods amongst great food and a cozy get together atmosphere. It’s that atmosphere, that time spent together, the closeness that I miss and which makes the holidays here pass without any significant remembrance. I miss the time to breath, to relax and to enjoy each other and the memories that are made during those times.  

It’s not unusual to see families head outdoors and roll their hard boiled decorated eggs in the grass. A fun little game to see which egg could last the longest and to crown the bearer as the toughest of them all. I can’t wait to see how long my egg will last and I believe that I have good chances since the recent rain and snow has softened the ground. I should be good to go unless I hit a rock and the fun could carry on for quite awhile. 

In the meantime I bought myself a chocolate bar with the Osterhase on the front of it. The face looks like a copy of a dollar bill and reads “In bunnies we trust”. What can I say I’m easily amused. In addition I bought a chocolate egg with a toy surprise inside. It reminds much of the eggs my Mom would get for me when I was sick. It was always the simplest of things that could brighten my day and today with this egg, similar in shape and purpose, I feel close to home across the miles. My toy surprise was a little ferret figurine, which I interpreted as yet another sign. Nevertheless I smiled looking up the symbolic meaning of the ferret and took note of the message he was trying to bring me. 

The last tradition that comes to mind are our Easter fires and huge bonfires are lit the night before Easter (tonight). In my town the fire is located on top of the hill which is the highest point of town and overlooks all the rooftops. It also allows these fires to be seen from across the land, from far away as they are meant to welcome the sun and spring. I have partaken in this event which turns into an all night outing and a friendly get together of all ages. It is mostly the younger crowd who organizes the event, lugging all the materials for the bonfire up the hill and who work tirelessly to ensure the “Fest” becomes a success.

My mind and my gaze will drift across the sky tonight to celebrate with my native country in an effort to feel close and join the celebration of spring as we welcome the sun and the true meaning of Easter. 

Happy Easter xoxoxo

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

29 thoughts on “In Bunnies we trust 

  1. This is fabulous! I didn’t know you were from Germany! I love the pictures you have here. They’re gorgeous! Now you’ve made me want to see Germany around the holidays! I also love all the animal symbolism you’ve been sharing. I’ve been noticing so many critters around me, too. The Animal Kingdom is truly remarkable. Much love to you, friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You should definitely go, it’s so beautiful.
      That’s fantastic that the animal kingdom is visiting you, they are all messengers if we are willing to see the signs.
      Hope you didn’t mind my little shout out for you the other day in giving some special thanks.
      Happy Easter my dear friend. Xoxoxo

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh my gosh, I didn’t even see it until now! Thank you so much for the shoutout!! No wonder I’ve been noticing more views the past few days, must be from you 🙂 Thank you so much for everything! This makes me so happy!! And I’m still so glad you resonate with mystic stars!

        Liked by 1 person

      2. You are very welcome my dear friend, it’s well deserved and you can’t be a special secret only I know and which I don’t share. You have so much insight and the world needs that beauty you convey. I loved to do it.
        And yes it still resonates but honestly I have to admit that I can relate to other realms as well and maybe I’m a mixture 😉

        Like

Leave a Reply

