Lauterbrunnen Switzerland 


This was a truly breathtaking place to visit in the summer of 2015 but I have unfinished business there. The weather is known to change quickly in the mountains and we hit a rain spell which for the most part blanketed the mountains in a thick cover of gray.   We had planned a trip to the summit of the Jungfrau, which is at 13642 ft one of the main mountain massifs in addition to the Eiger and the Mönch besides it. Due to weather it fell through and it would have been a waste of money to ascend the mountain to see nothing. Initially it was very disappointing as we had waited a long time for it, but now it is more then ever a reason to return to make the success even sweeter when we finally set our sights on the beautiful mountain tops. In addition the ice palace is also on top of Europe as the Jungfrau is often referred to. Carved into ice you can admire caves and figures or have an ice cold drink at the bar. Further you can continue to the Schilthorn where parts of the famous Bond movie “You only live twice” was filmed. 

One of my most favorite memories about Switzerland was just before our departure. We walked the streets one more time that  morning and got to witness a man playing his Alphorn in front of his house. Facing the mountains and playing his melody was mesmerizing to watch and an experience we will not soon forget. (I will have to look for the video and post it another time). 

25 thoughts on “Lauterbrunnen Switzerland 

      1. I do as well. The mountains always have something majestic for me while the rhythmic sound of the ocean and the waves have such a calming effect on me. I believe that everything has beauty to offer in their own way and it has helped me enjoy even the smallest and simplest of things.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. The same here, I live close to the Mediterranean Sea and walk there daily, which I love, it is very calming. I don’t have mountains close to, where I live right now, have had, but I have nature, where I walk with my dog.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. That’s beautiful and I’m sure it has to be wonderful to have so close. I somehow pick up from your beautiful work and your creativity that you enjoy those things of beauty that surround you. An amazing gift not all can value.

        Liked by 1 person

  1. I also went to Lauterbrunnen, Jungfraujoch and it was breathtaking! Thanks for sharing!
    Cheers,
    Michelle
    michellefranclee.com

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

