Who….Neil Diamond

I heard that reading is to the brain what exercise is to the body. Well, if that is truly the case, then I have exercised my brain for a long time indeed. Just in case I haven’t mentioned it already, it’s no secret that I love books and I developed a passion early on for the ink and papery little stories of magic. In hindsight, I would say that reading is essential if you want to be a writer, the two go hand in hand and I know that books have enriched my life in many ways I’m grateful for. After my fathers death I struggled to relate. The stories my classmates would tell, were often reflect end of their time and adventures with their Dad. I had nothing to contribute and I felt alone, stuck in my own struggle of overcoming my father being gone. My Mom did the best she could, locking up the pain about losing a husband, but she also locked away her feelings and affection turned into daily survival. After awhile I got lost in books and books became my closest friends. I found solace in their stories and allowed the fiction and fairytales to whisk me away. Books became a means to fill the void of loneliness and books were something to look forward to. A light on the horizon for me, books and animals were my escape from reality. Soon I felt addicted to how they helped me forget my troubles, even it was just for a little while and temporarily. I read a few pages in bed each night, much like a reward that settled me into a peaceful sleep allowing my troubles to disappear. My all time favorite Author in Germany was Heinz G. Konsalik and I’m certain that I owe mostly all of his books. I might have lost track of a few as I moved to the states and I think it would be interesting to revisit his stories sometime. I wonder if I would remember reading them decades ago, if they would offer a different message, years later with insight that bares lessons I might have missed too young to comprehend back then. I wonder….

A few days ago I read a blog post from one of my favorite writers who is an amazing inspirational soul to me. 

Kamalini loves books as well and must be Neil Gaiman’s biggest fan. She said she would gladly kidnap him so he could feed her stories all the time. A thought that brings a smile to my face, that is of course wishful thinking but is spoken from a true admirer and fan. We talked about Neil Gaiman before and I have never read anything of his. After Kamalini’s post and recommendation, I finally did it and ordered my very first Gaiman novel called “The graveyard book”. I’m truly excited to hold this little gem in my hands. So excited that I had to download a little sample read until the actual book arrives. 

I have a nook and the kindle app on my iPad, but I’m still a sucker for holding the actual book in my hands. To feel the pages, to smell them, (SILLY GIRL, I know, but the only way to be for me and I don’t mind being that silly girl that offers a unique and different take). I like to indulge in the texture of the rich binding and in this case see the illustrations (yes it has pictures, a bonus that speaks to my inner artist and makes the book even better) to what I would interpret more lifelike in a book vs. how they might appear on an app. It’s almost like picking up on a certain energy that is emitting from the pages, a sensation that can’t be found on a cold computer screen. Yeah, am I weirding you out yet? 

Side (mini rant) note hahah: It’s the little things, the simple stuff that matters the most and don’t get me started on how I think life is serious enough already and how I feel that laughter and a sense of humor helps combat the day to day challenges. All the little things will end up one day being the big things in our lives. 

Anyhow, I got super excited ordering the book and naturally I couldn’t keep the news all to myself. I shared it with a few people who at first thought that I was talking about Neil Diamond. I laughed so hard that I had to gasp for air. Haha, I know I have an accent and I guess the names even sound similar, but still, hahaha. By now, a few days later, we already laughed about it several times and I know this one will be one of those silly moments that go down in history always reminding us of Neil Diamond whenever there is a reference of Neil Gaiman to be made. I bet my bottom dollar on it, I just know it. 

I have heard that not all people get his writing and after reading the short introduction, I’m left intrigued in a multitude of ways. I’m curious what my own verdict will be and if I will “get him” or miss his insights. I read a few pages from the sample read, but it’s clearly too early to tell and I haven’t committed a 100%. I am currently dabbling in three different books. Gee…definitely a new one for me and I have never read multiple books at once. My imagination needs to be fed and it depends on my mood or the thirst of adventure that determines which book I pick up. 

Now a few days later, I keep thinking back to this Gaiman novel and I can’t shake the feelings I’m picking up about “The Graveyard”. Call it intuition, a sixth sense or whatever you may, it feels as if there is something important waiting for me in those pages. Something that tells me that Gaiman deserves my undivided attention from the beginning to the end. He comes so highly recommended from somebody I value so much, that it is special and can’t be disrupted with reading other books at the same time. I can’t tell you why I feel like this, I just do and especially my first novel can’t be clouded by distraction. Perhaps it is one of those things that don’t have to make sense, that don’t require an explanation and just maybe the answer will reveal itself at a later point once I develop my own opinion. If everything holds true about his writing, then I will find my own lessons between the lines. My intuition guides me in the process, as I embark onto something great, something that could perhaps become a bit addictive and I have to trust it without further questioning. Just like Konsalik, Gaiman could easily become my new collection and one day I will look back into time, wondering in disbelief as to why it took me so long and why I have never read him before. I will remember Kamalini and how it was her who introduced me to Neil Gaiman and enriched my life like she often does. I’m excited to see

11 thoughts on “Who….Neil Diamond

  1. I too prefer the printed versions. When engrossed in a really good book, it’s nice to “feel” how many pages you have left, so you can slow down and enjoy the remainder. You got me curious about Gaiman, so I’ll have to check him out.

    Liked by 2 people

  2. My dear wonderful Warrior Queen! I am deeply humbled and touched by your blog post. I love sharing special insights and creativity with people. By some weird and beautiful stroke of good luck (and fate) you crept into my life and have been a source of inspiration ever since. Thank you so much for your kind words. Thank you so much for reading and sharing and being a source of light in my world. Haha! Neil Diamond!!! Now I’ll be laughing for days 😀 Enjoy the book…and know that I’m sitting right beside you with each word (could I be any creepier? lol).

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Once again your kind words leave me humbled and searching for words that could return your kindness. You are one in a million my friend and again I tell you how grateful I am that fate intersected our path. You say that I inspire you and I would say that it is you who does that for me.
      I too remember reading my very first post as I came across your blog and immediately I was drawn in and the way you write inspired me from the very beginning.
      Thank you for touching my heart on so many levels and being the incredible person you are.
      And I wished you could sit right next to me and we could read the book together 😉

      Like

  3. I love curling up in bed with a real book. You just can’t cuddle a Kindle… though I use mine frequently just because downloading is so much easier and I’m not very patient.
    But more importantly….you’re GERMAN?? You come across people on here and have conversations with them and you develop an image in your mind of what they’re like… How old they are, what they sound like, where they live etc. and more often than not, you’re completely wrong!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

