Posted in Inspiration, Spirit animals

A sleepy start

I didn’t sleep all that well the night before vacation. Technically, vacation had started the moment I walked away from work, but I was still stuck in overdrive mode, trying to get everything done. Water the plants, pay a few bills, car registration, tasks, chores, tasks and then some more of the same. 

I had planned to get up at 4AM and early mornings always bring a bit anxiety. And there I was, lying wide awake, but despite the anticipated wee hours, it wasn’t the sole reason for my restlessness and I knew it. The owl remained on my mind and the sight of it lingered. Although not immediately obvious. I have since learned a much better understanding of the owl and will only associate it with good fortune as I’m sure that I will see it again. The messenger of the underworld, announcer of death is not meant in a literal sense but more as a transitional state that signals upcoming changes in your life. I would also love to thank my dear friend at BLT for helping me clarify this through further research and by shedding her own perspective. I’m convinced….

But on that particular night, my peace was disturbed and it only became more evident in hindsight. It must have been around midnight that I finally fell asleep and the remaining four hours of rest were more like napping. A light sleep that included wake up periods and waiting for the alarm to go off. Usually it’s pretty frustrating when this happens and the little time left is always filled with tossing and turning. And of course it wasn’t any different on this night.

I felt sick after I got up, the kind of sick you feel when you know that you didn’t get enough sleep. Head pounding, nauseous and dizzy was how I started my day, chugging one glass of water after another to hydrate and offset the way I was feeling. Somewhat successful I made decent time, packing the last few things while grabbing a snack. It was 5:45 AM, I was out the door and on my way. The memory of the owl had vanished for the most part as I made my sleepy journey towards town. There I would meet up and finally get on the way of the adventure I had been fevering towards.

It was still dark outside as I drove around the dry lake, an extension of the great salt flats of Salt Lake City. The lake-bed was now filled with water after all the recent rain and snow, as I noticed a pair of eyes glaring back at me. I slowed down to a cautious approach and couldn’t immediately make out the shape of the animal ahead of me. Perhaps a small coyote as it was not tall enough for a deer. That thought changed quickly as I noticed the body even closer to the ground. In an instance the face turned towards me and revealed the most beautiful burglar mask and the most beautiful sight of that moment. It was a raccoon, one of my favorites, but then which animal isn’t my favorite. The sight immediately brought a smile to my face and peace was restored. It had to be a good trip now and it’s always the small things such as being in the presence of animals that always become one of the biggest moments for me. It’s like a huge honor being bestowed upon me as I’m allowed to see all of gods magnificent creatures. Being able to witness and observe, to share a moment in time with another spirit, another living being.  

After the owl incident the night before, I was curious of the symbolic meaning of the raccoon and believed it to be another sign. 
Here is what I found about it. 
“You will be receiving some great news” Raccoon
If a raccoon has crossed your path, you are possibly being asked to let go of a situation, person, belief or habit. Conversely it could also mean that you should accept the gifts that are being offered to you right now by the universe. (And I was about to receive an awesome 4 day get away, a retreat to nature, to myself to restore my strength and my well being).

This animal could also be reminding you to leave no stone unturned in your quest for resolution with a current problem you are facing. Take the time to look at the whole picture – the seen and the unseen to find the resolution. 
My mind was sparked with intuition from the hawk, a gift to see clearly and beyond, the transitional state that was awaiting my life as signaled by the owl and the encouragement to let go, to surrender, but to do my research in my quest for resolution and change announced by the raccoon. 
Do you believe in spirit animals? 

Photo Credit: Christopher Ameruoso 

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

16 thoughts on “A sleepy start

  1. I do believe in spirit animals! I have raccoons visit me all the time! It is so funny, because although my indoor kitties hiss at the cats who visit, they are stand transfixed by the raccoons. Mesmerized… Their little burglar masks are the cutest thing.

    And I am totally the same way when I know I need to wake early… UGH!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. So neat and after all we do face and are going through similar things in life.
      I think spirit animals are obvious to those who believe in this sort of things. I’m sure they are around others as well but the signs go unnoticed and are discarded.
      Yeah early mornings suck lol. I’m more of a night owl. And here is the 🦉 again 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Well after reading your post I do and always believed in spirit animals. Being in the martial arts for over 25 years using the five animals principles makes me always to believe that the spirit of animals are very important for everyday living. The animals we used in the art I studied was the tiger, crane, snake, panther and last the dragon. They all have to co-exist with each other. But it’s the spirit of these animals that we take with us each day and better our lives with. So, being in the art for so long has taught me a few things about the spiritual journey of what these animals do. So, what a great post and again what animal spirit are you going to bring out to making that difference in your life is my question to you. And it doesn’t have to be the ones I studied for over 25 years. Just something deep to think about…

    Liked by 1 person

    1. You are always so kind Marcus and leave me smiling whenever I come across you whether it is in a comment or a post. People like you hold such as special place in my heart and once again I’m grateful and honored to call you my friend. I hope to finish day 1 either tonight after work or tomorrow. 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  3. My take is much different and yet the same. Creation. Life. From the smallest, single-cell creature to humans, all are required and part of an intricate design. This earth cannot be without all. There is a spirit that moves through us and animals. We can be selective about what we see and feel and our vision stems from the condition of our own spirit. Where we are in a given moment has impact on how we perceive the spirits of other beings.

    There have been times when I have been barreled over by the presence of an animal – a deer, hawk, raccoon, elk, coyote or fox and stood still as he/she and I connected beyond the realm of our bodies. It is timeless. It is odd that there are other moments when these animals are in close proximity to me and I cannot sense their presence (they may be seen by others who are with me) and I am oblivious; veiled by my own spirit being corrupted by the worries and concerns of the temporal world.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I do totally agree with you Henry and your words flow from my heart. I’m sure there have been many other times when these animals have been around me, but I was too corrupt and disturbed in my own balance to notice. That’s also why I believe that the signs are always there, and it depends solely on us, if we are in the right frame of mind and if we can take the time to notice.
      You are also right with that we can be selective of what we see, feel and what we want to believe, of which some of those beliefs may not be open to the possibilities beyond factual evidence. Our experiences as well play a huge role in our belief system and how we interpret life around us. The frequency we set and emit and the energy that connects us with the spirit of others.
      Thank you so much for stopping by Henry, I have missed you and hope you are doing well. Many hugs and much love to you my friend. Xo

      Liked by 2 people

      1. Awww…you bring such a smile to my face with your friendship. I am doing ok.

        This was such an uplifting post that struck me so I was compelled to respond to it…well, I think pretty much all of your posts are this way.

        I know that I am a very spiritual being and my beliefs are inherent rather than imposed. I know where I come from and where I am going…it is the part that I am in at the moment that is in question.

        One of the moments when the spirit world became overwhelmingly apparent to me was when I was standing on a mountain (the Pinnacle Overlook) looking out on Tennessee, Virginia, North Carolina and Kentucky, I felt very light as if I was being lifted up and held by thousands of hands. I was standing there, weakened yet strengthened by spirits who, it felt, were welcoming me home. I learned that this region was part of the home of my ancestors (Cherokee) and had some very spiritual significance to the people. I have never felt anything like it before or since.

        Liked by 2 people

      2. Thank you so very much Henry, I cherish your words, your input and your own story which brings me yet closer to you in spirit.
        Explaining what you experienced standing on the Pinnacle Overlook is amazing. Hard to put into words and dismissed easily by non believers, yet for me I feel that I know exactly how you must have felt and you described it beautifully. That special place in nature, close to your ancestors allowed you to feel something very powerful and I’m happy you were in the right frame of mind to witness and experience such a gift. Thank you for sharing, you made my day. ❤

        Liked by 1 person

      3. Aww…thank you! I don’t typically share that side of me in person with people to avoid the head-tilts and smirks of doubt. For the others reading my comments and doing that in the privacy of their own screen, I don’t have to witness it so it is safe.

        I have walked battlefields in the US and overseas and felt the pain and suffering and fierce energy depending upon where I have stood. Pearl Harbor is one such place.

        Thank you for receiving my thoughts and for being much more bold and brave than I could be – fostering a sense of safety for me to put this out in context with your posts.

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Thank you again Henry, it really means the world to me and I’m honored you see me as a person comfortable enough to let your guard down while letting the real you shine thorough.
        I do care about what people think and just like you, we all look for acceptance. But I also learned that there will always be some who don’t see eye to eye with us no matter how perfect we are. Judgment will happen and if so, then you have to consider the worth as well as its source, coming from those who know nothing about you and have never walked a day in your shoes.
        I will always be here to receive your thoughts, to listen and support you any way I can. I’m not sure if this is bold or brave, but the safety of you speaking what’s in your heart and instilling that environment on my blog, is only human and compassionate to me.
        Again I find your story amazing how you picked up on that energy and felt the pain and heartache of years and years passed. I believe those moments stay with us forever, as they are hard to explain and to make sense out of even for ourselves, but they will remain within our hearts always.
        And you know what…..some things don’t need to be rationalized and explained, some things just need to be felt with a heart wide open that is full of good intentions. And that you have my dear friend.

        Liked by 2 people

Leave a Reply

