Posted in Inspiration, Photography

Delayed magic…

Have you heard people say that Christmas time is a magical time? Well the holidays have come and gone with nothing more than a distant memory. Until the other day….Just before discovering the wild mustangs that roam freely in the highlands above Reno, I was treated to a little magical holiday reminder. Driving up the windy road en route to Virginia City, a historical old fashioned western town that deserves an entire post of its own, the trip is just a short distance from Reno and is a scenic marvel. A few well placed pull outs offer great views of Mount Rose, the Sierra and the town lying at its feet. Covered in snow, I think it looks even more majestic and grand as usual and there is just something about this pure white blanket covering the landscape. Truly magical, but not necessary Christmas related.

What added to the Christmas magic and the memory were two decorated trees standing at the side of the road. Somebody had stopped and started decorating the trees with their own unique ornament. A start to something that others felt inspired to follow while discovering these magical trees. More and more people added their decorations to the trees, bringing a little Christmas cheer and magic to everybody who would pass by. Perhaps brightening the season of some less fortunate people who were unable to have their own tree.


As a passionate photographer, I had to stop as I’m always inspired and on the look out for any photo-op that strikes my eye. Camera at hand most of the time, many would agree that it is our way to share our vision through capturing magic all over our viewfinders. I caught a mirrored reflection of myself in one of the shiny ornaments. I didn’t see it while taking the picture and little did I know that it would later become a reflection that commanded me to share a little magic of my own.

The two trees are still standing tall one month after the holidays. Who knows, maybe a few ornaments flew off in the eye of the recent storms, and if so, they must have flown away to find a new home as I saw nothing littering the grounds underneath. Today I’m reminded that every day can be magical and that we don’t need a schedule or season to dictate the arrival of magic. It’s all about our frame of mind and what we believe in. It’s up to us to bring a little magic to our lives and the lives of others. It’s really simple and it could start with a smile. I know I’m a big dreamer and maybe some things are not always realistic in what most would call the “Real world”. Perhaps I have constructed my own world and I have to say that I like it there. Blissful ignorance to a point, it is a safe haven. It’s a place that allows me to pause and see magic in the most challenging of times while it reminds me that all of us play a huge part in the creation of magic.


My very talented friend Kamelini who inspires me in a huge way left a comment for me this morning wanting to see more pictures from my winter wonderland. To inspire her and become even more eager to make it out to my side of country so she can witness the beauty with her own eyes. Well, if this is what it takes, I have plenty of pictures to post and would like to dedicate this post to her. She is a very magical soul herself, living in a world that is pure while reaching people through her writings all over the world. She is a magnificent storyteller that whisks us away into the land of magic and make believe and allows us to dream. This and so much more makes her one of the most beautiful people in my book. I hope you check her out and stop by her blog. And while I don’t have to know her in person, it’s our souls that are connected and I do hope to meet her some day to share the magic of that moment. Xoxoxoxo.


I hope that everybody will find a little time to reflect on the magic in your life and have a wonderful weekend. I would love to read about your time and what it was you found a little bit of magic in.

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

7 thoughts on “Delayed magic…

  1. Awwwwwwwwwwww! I’ve been having a rough time recently Moonshine and this filled me with so much hope and genuine happiness. Thank you for the kind words. To know that I’m able to reach someone as kind and magical as yourself (continents away from me)…it makes me feel sure that there is a design in the universe that cannot be explained. I hope that I get to see these beautiful things you photograph soon with my own eyes. And if I falter, or find any setbacks along my path, I will reread your posts and refuel my inspiration tank to find another way 😉 Have an incredible day friend!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Soooo glad I could brighten your day just a tiny bit and I’m sorry you have been having a rough time. Been there myself recently and life has been so busy that the little free time didn’t offset long enough to recharge my batteries.
      You know that your words always reach me and it was you who first inspired me to become a storyteller myself. I have work to do, but I’m moving forward and that’s all that matters. Thank you for all of your kindness and for being simply “You” Xoxoxoxo. Have a great weekend my soul sister.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thank you. I’ve been poking and prodding at this idea of impermanence for a while now. Light follows dark and vice versa…so look forward to the ups 🙂 I’m doing the same on my end: sticking to my academic work and trying not to let anything else get me down. Amazing weekend right back at ya!

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

