Tough as nails 

“Tough” my dentist called me yesterday and for several times she referred back to this statement even though I’m not quiet sure as to why. 😉 Maybe it was a phycological trick to evoke that warrior spirit and to tough it out, to be strong and embrace what was about to come. Whatever it was, it worked and I walked away with one less tooth but victorious in my undertaking. After signing the piece of paper giving my consent to extract #18, she sat on her little rolling chair next to me, ensuring and double checking that she had given me enough novocaine so I wouldn’t feel a thing. It was my first visit, my first time meeting her and I recall looking up at her to meet her gentle smile while the thought crossed my mind that an angel was sitting next to me who would help me. It was extremely personal and touching to me, maybe I was just nervous and emotional, but I don’t think so and it was as if I could look right into her kind soul, knowing instantly why she does what she does and that was to help people just like me who need a supporting hand from time to time. My focus is usually reversed, with me being the one trying to be an angel to somebody, helping in any way I possibly can. But not this time and this time was about me. Yes I paid her to do a job, but there are always two ways we can do a job. Either our heart is in it and our desire to help people comes through the compassionate manners we carry ourselves in, or its just a job, a matter to collect a paycheck which removes all emotions and simply leaves us not caring one way or another. You know what I thought as she was sitting next to me while being considerate of the thanksgiving holiday, asking me if I wanted to wait with the extraction until after thanksgiving so I could stuff my face. 

While being medicated on novocaine, Elvia her amazing assistant brought me two ibuprofen tablets to take so they could kick in as soon as the shots would wear out. I was informed that I could take up to three pills four times throughout the day to help with the pain that would follow and that I would feel exhausted from the surgery by the evening. I listened and took it all in, after all I never had any teeth besides my wisdom teeth extracted. 

At the moment of extraction I probably did white knuckle my lounger a bit. Not because of pain but because it’s not every day somebody almost sits in top of you, torture tool in mouth and all, trying to violently take extract something rooted from deep inside your mouth. But in fact the whole process was very smooth and the white knuckles only came in because I was preparing myself for the discomfort and the pain that never showed up. 

Evening came and the only thing that held truth was that I nearly passed out and fell asleep on the futon at 9PM. I felt blissfully sleepy but also cold despite the heater running. By now I had a cup of chicken broth, a slice of pound cake, a little stuffing softened even more with gravy and squash vegetables and that was it. I could have probably fallen asleep but now my stomach was reminding me that I hadn’t fed it any substantial food all day. Oh yeah there was also that one banana I ate, but nothing significant to brag about it either. A food scavenger hunt revealed two slices of leftover cold pizza, not exactly the soft food I was suppose to eat but a perfect choice to extinguish and feed my hunger. Soft food or not, after all I am a warrior and the baby that I am at times when I’m tired of being strong was somewhere tucked in, sleeping and out of sight. 

I had no problems eating the pizza and besides taking smaller bites and trying to chew on the other side of the extraction, I took no other precautionary measures and finally felt satisfied. At 11PM I went to bed and remembered in a no big deal moment that I had forgotten all about to take my pain meds. It’s a good thing believe me, as I don’t do pharmaceutical drugs easily. Lucky that I had no excruciating pains and the symptoms that were surely to follow the extraction, or so I was told at the doctors office, never showed up. 

So today on thanksgiving day, I have a few more things to add to my long list of things that I’m already grateful for. 

I met a few angels yesterday at the dentist office who made me the focus (something I’m not used to), and who helped me get better. 

I’m grateful for the smooth process of saying goodbye to #18 and for not having any difficulties with it. 

And I’m grateful for carrying on with life in the fashion of “business as usual”, meaning that I don’t need much extra care, pain meds and such and that I’m able to eat solid food. 

The only thing that seemed to have backfired is that thanksgiving diet plan and I will have turkey and all the fixings after all. Not such a bad thing after all, is it now? 😉
Happy thanksgiving Xoxoxoxo

A little funny for your holiday feast 😉

4 thoughts on “Tough as nails 

  1. Woah…. so the dentist thing is really long and harsh… I just read your last post about it, and now I’m reading this one before. Well it’s so refreshing your positive attitude which is not only that, but it’s also filled with self-awareness. So you know, whith this post I feel I would love to grab a coffe one day to know you in person!!
    Have a wonderful day and good luck for the dentist too, but I think it will be all fine!!! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Wow, Luca you are making my morning and it would be so amazing to meet one day. I believe people enter our life’s got a reason and I know that our paths crossed for a purpose. I look forward to that cup of coffee with you and 2017 might just do that 😉🌹❤️

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

