Good-bye #18

I lost number 18 at the dentist today but I can’t complain. I have been lucky with my teeth for the most part of my life. Maybe I shouldn’t call it luck and I often think it’s because I never really cared about all that sweet stuff as a child. What a child that doesn’t like candy? Unheard of right? True though and to this day I don’t have much of a sweet tooth. There is the occasional craving that rises up every now and then, but which has to be followed up with a piece of sausage to get the sweets out of my mouth and to neutralize the taste as I would call it. Lol, yeah you heard right, a piece of sausage and meat will do too. So just maybe all the abstinence from sugar overkill may have saved my teeth in the long run. It has been years that I have been at the dentist due to a few bad experiences and the sound of that drill is something to behold even if there is no pain. It’s a bit like nails on a chalk board and it sends shivers of discomfort down my spine just thinking of it. There was no drill today buy I will take headphones from now on when there might be one. Going to the dentist today brought back some anxiety but also the soothing effects of feeling relieved that I finally took that first step and went. My blood pressure was elevated from sitting in that chair with all the medieval looking probing and torture tools surrounding me, but I also found myself relaxing as the feeling of relief swept over me. In the 2 1/2 hours that I was there, I surely had enough time to do so. The warrior spirit was alive and well as my dentist referred to me not once but three times that I was tough as nails. Personally I just think I have a high tolerance to pain, but there really wasn’t too much discomfort today. Thank you novocaine. 

#18 called for a root canal which had a 50/50 chance of being successful. I opted against it after the advice from my dentist (wow, she advised me about what would be best for me instead of trying to capitalize on making more money off of me) and I decided to say good-bye to #18 even though he had always served me well in chomping up my nutrition. The odds weren’t good enough and I needed a higher survival percentage in order to pay the high fee #18 demanded. 

I will have to go back a few more times I’m sure, for another extraction and routine cleaning etc. but I started and the experience was as great as it can be considering going to the dentist is great. I’m not sure if it will ever be my favorite thing, but the staff was amazing and made all the difference. And to look on the bright side of things and find my silver lining, I think it’s a hell of a diet plan to have a tooth extracted the day before thanksgiving as I am on soft and liquid food. Was I in the right frame of mind to do that or has this turned into an episode of “What was I thinking” Haha….I must have food withdraws as I only had a cup of chicken broth and a slice of pound cake which leaves me yearning for, yes you got it….sausage that I can’t really chew up now. I think I’m just making fun of myself and truly I have a thanksgiving kind of mind frame every day. Not always the food with turkey and all the fixings, but definitely always thankful for every lesson life has given me, for the people that surround me and make me a better person and for everything I have been blessed with. You see, I have a lot to be thankful for and I’m grateful for each one of you. 

Wishing you a Happy thanksgiving, peace on earth, fond memories with friends and family and many special moments.

8 thoughts on “Good-bye #18

  1. I’m sorry for your loss of #18, but I’m glad you’re doing well. I’d be sad to be on soft foods tomorrow. I cannot wait for some turkey and roasted Brussel sprouts. Last year, I had my gastric bypass the week of Thanksgiving. I was on protein shakes for Thanksgiving last year and didn’t care at that point if I ever are a bite of food again. You showed your warrior self again today. I am thankful for you and your blog and your from afar Friendship. Take care. 😘

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe thank you Patty, I’m grateful our paths have crossed. And besides the soft foods, it’s not so bad and I will have turkey later. Besides I’m making a homemade cheesecake on a few minutes, delicious and that will hold me over. Happy thanksgiving

      Liked by 1 person

  2. While reading this I felt my own #18 twitch nervously. Dreading visits to the dentist must be something universal to mankind. While living for 5 years in Italy I avoided dentists completely, what I regretted when returning to Germany and finally forced to go with “unbearable pain”, which I guess was inevitable. Since then I promised to myself to go every 6 months for a “look-see” and some professional cleaning, but I’m overdue already by 6 months. I intended to call this week to get an appointment still this year but there is a Star Trek – like invisible force field between myself and the phone….Have a great Thanksgiving – and keep the faith!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha thank you for reassuring me that it is not just my own phobia. It really was not bad once I was there, but the anxiety that goes into it from a one time bad experience causes my blood pressure to rise. Luckily I didn’t have the pain but I do have a high tolerance and forgot to take my pain meds all together today. I felt relieved of finally having gone, no matter how much I didn’t want to go. Just like you said, I think it’s the peace of mind one finally feels from no longer having to feel bad about it.
      Have a wonderful thanksgiving 😉

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Thanks 😉 Despite being in the office all day I actually do benefit from the American Thanksgiving – my son and I will have burger tonight and get to see the Thanksgiving NFL games. My passion for American Football is a leftover from my year as exchange student in the Pocono Mountains in PA. And I got my son hooked on it as well. So typically our Sundays nights from September to February are father/son events 😉 …plus Thanksgiving 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

