3 Day music video challenge – Day 2

I am way behind here with my own challenge creation and my first nomination has already flown through all three days by the time I finally land on day 2. I loved all three days and I always think it is interesting to find out what music / lyrics move others. It’s a great way to discover new music or dust off old favorites. What started out with a 3 day quote challenge and a nomination from tarnishedsoul, turned into this music video challenge with slightly changed the rules.

My song choice for day 2 is another song with lyrics that are close to my heart. It came to mind again last week as I remembered bits and pieces and found them to be relevant. Something happened last week and it was much more than just a slap in the face. It was more like the ultimate betrayal (once again), an attempt to drag me to the depths of the ocean and to leave me there without regard or consideration due to selfish reasons. It wasn’t the first time, but it was the final time and the one that broke the camels back. It was then and there that I vowed to never be “broken again” especially not through the hands of others. It became crystal clear that things like this don’t happen because people care about you and love you. Sometimes you just need to cut the tie and accept that you can’t help somebody that can’t see any wrong doing in their behavior. Fool me once, shame on you. Fool me twice, shame on me. I should have reason to be ashamed beyond recognition as I have been fooled a great many more times. Maybe not fooled and I was never oblivious to what was going on, but taken for granted and taken advantage of for sure.

Last week made me think about the people in my life, people that are close to to me as well as people who are nothing more than an acquaintance. The sincere ones and the ones that couldn’t care less about you. Still they all shared something in common and it didn’t matter what walk of life they came from. I tried to name how many people I knew that were happy and the realization of how few was truly alarming. It put things into perspective and I really had to think. Many were stuck in miserable relationships and situations for one reason or another. Maybe the quota of what one could endure wasn’t met yet, maybe that heart only had a a few cracks but wasn’t completely broke yet and maybe it was just fear of being alone. Fear of the darkness, the unforeseen, fear of change. Maybe they were stuck, unable to start a life on their own, dependent financially or in some other way stuck such as in sickness and not seeing any hope. I saw a lot of misery and sadness as feeling was flooding through my veins. I myself have been there, for too long and had my own reasons. It’s something that can’t be rushed and life will unfold exactly the way it intends to do so. It doesn’t matter if you are ready, if you want it to happen or if you get frustrated when it does find it’s way to you. “Life happens” regardless and you can either see the lesson and embrace it or you can be the victim and let it define you. I still have some fight left in me and after all I am a warrior. I choose the silver lining and I know that the truth has always been there for me to find. It’s not a blight, but a remedy. And for what seemed like an eternity as my fears seemed to keep me blinded, I will hold my guard as I walk away to never be broken again because sometimes the darkness can show you the light.

 

My day 2 nomination is a great friend who I met here on wordpress and who is like the sister I never had at. We share many similarities and there is a silent understanding without words and tons of mental hugs throughout the day. “You need strengthening, toughening and it takes your inner dark to rekindle the fire within. Don’t ignore and listen to me now because you need never feel broken again.”

Much love to you, you are always on my mind  MLYGhost

 

 

6 thoughts on “3 Day music video challenge – Day 2

Leave a Reply

