Posted in Experience, Human spirit, Humor, Life, My story, Self help

Boom….Doom?

A few days ago I lost my beloved “Faith bracelet” at work and I’m sure that by now somebody picked it up and it has found a new owner. I had worn it faithfully for many weeks and after several customers had commented on it, it became a regular wardrobe accessory. It’s not that it was the most valuable piece of jewelry I owned, but the message and that one word, had a special meaning and stirred my heart…and now it was gone. Now what? Was I doomed? I have to admit that it was a weird feeling that the bracelet was gone and I reminded myself that even though I no longer had it, by no means was it that all of my faith automatically had vanished with it. Of course I knew this and yet it felt as if I was waiting for something bad to happen. Something had to be lurking around the corner. I’d better prepare to slay the monsters when they emerged out of the dark. I better be ready. Last night (and it was dark I might add) I was sitting here on the couch, emerged in my iPad, reading and responding to comments on WordPress. Not a thought about the bracelet and I had forgotten all about it. Everything is fine and after awhile I decide to indulge myself into holding a real book (I’m a sucker for books and there is just something about holding the pages in your hand). I’m in for a real treat as I pick up “Lost on the Appalachian Trail” by a friend Kyle Rohrig (Mayor) who is also here on WordPress under themayorhikes.wordpress.com. You just have to check it out for yourself and believe me when I say that you won’t be disappointed. It’s a story of hiking the entire Appalachian Trail, a great tale of adventure, the strength of the human spirit, filled with challenges, overcoming and prevailing, as well as the wit, humor and just plain laugh out loud moments, even if they come at the expense of the author. I’m sure he can laugh about some of these moments by now and after successfully completing the PCT (Pacific Crest Trail) just recently, I’m sure many such moments have added to the memory bank since the Appalachian Trail. And on top of it it’s a great book for any animal lover as he shares the journey with his beloved “Catfox” Katana a Siba Inu with a mind of her own. And so it was that I’m sitting here, by myself, in the middle of the night laughing out loud reading his words. They describe the situation so vivid and in such great detail that I can visualize the whole thing and feel as if I’m right there.

I read for awhile, it’s getting late and I’m going to check WordPress one more time before bed. I grab the iPad and there is nothing but the “Black screen of death”. Initially I didn’t even know such a thing existed. It’s literally non responsive and I can’t turn it on or off, heck who even knew if it was on or off. All there is, is the black screen. I mess around with it for awhile to no avail and eventually have to give up because it’s almost midnight and I have to work early in the morning.

In bed by now, I try to forget about the whole thing and put worries aside as the thoughts of self demise creep in. Oh my goodness how am I going to write my blog, pay my bills online, do I have to get another iPad, and worse has somebody hacked me and is stealing my blog. Needless to say I couldn’t sleep and I grab the iPad once more. I alternately hit the home button and the power button while nothing happens and I guess I’m talking to myself throughout the whole process. All of a sudden, black screen and all, I hear Siri saying “Mmmmh, that’s an interesting question Rhapsody”. Definitely not what I had expected at this point (not funny Siri) but it’s comical now, even though last night was a different story. She talked a few more times but that was all I got as far as any response trying to restore the iPad. Still paranoid with my mind taking off into all kinds of weird directions, oh wait ….this is all happening because I lost my “Faith Bracelets”, I now grab the iPhone. I have to check for any suspicious activity, even check my finances to see if aliens have taking over demanding a ransom in exchange for a working and functioning iPad. Nothing, until I finally get the brilliant idea to google the cause for the “Black screen of death” and you might say “Gee what took you so long”. I know right, I know, but in my defense, it was late and I think I had left all of my brain cells at work over the past few days. I was mentally exhausted. But luckily enough my brain managed to produce one more brilliant thought for the day and I found a tip on how to fix the non responsive screen. Hold the home and power button at the same time and count to ten. Seven, eight, nine and then magic…..tah tah and miraculously the apple icon appears and the gadget springs back into action as if nothing ever happened. Ahhh major relief….

I’m sure some of you can relate and have similar stories. And I’m sure some of you smile at my little story by now. Perhaps it was payback and karma for laughing at some of Kyle’s trail mishaps, but why ….it was all in good fun and I meant no harm. For sure it was merely a reminder of how dependent we have become in regards to our technology. Heaven forbid if we had to return to our old ways, perhaps even write a paper check. Do you remember those times? But for tonight I slay’ed the doom and all of its monsters. Peace is restored once more as I drift off to sleep and rest assured 😉

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

10 thoughts on “Boom….Doom?

  1. Karma will probably come and get me now because I laughed really hard at this! 😂😂😂
    You still have your faith and technology is funny! I know the immediate panic after my broken phone episode.
    Sometimes, just like in life, all you need is to restart! 😉

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Haha of course you would, always so helpful lol but I’m usually the first to laugh at myself so you’re too late 😉.
      Which parts of the trail did you do? You will have to tell me about your experience some time as I would love to hear it. You can google Kyle on YouTube and he did a 30 Minute video of the entire Appalachian trail which is pretty cool for a visual.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. Clingmans Dome in the Smokies is the highest point of the trail in Tennessee , Its only half the elevation that you are used to…but very scenic and nice views. We did it as a guy trip and several coworkers did the climb several years ago.Don’t tell the park police but I have still, a twisted gnarly piece of dead tree root that came from the top of Tennessee. I was going to make something out of it but never have decided what. 🙂 We sat up there and toasted our achievement and our friendship with a bottle of hennesy that someone carried in their pack. Shhh again ,lol. Also The horseback riding pics I posted last year, were from Springer mountain at the southern end of the trail in Georgia. While the ride wasn’t on the trail itself. I was not too far from Makays trail (or however you spell his name) and we hiked around the area as well.

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Very cool and I think I read in the book already about Clingmans Dome. It sounds like you have some awesome memories from that time and I’m sure it is beautiful and scenic. Maybe I will have to come south some time. 😉

        Like

  2. Technology…what a funny thing. We don’t want to be attached to it, yet we panic when we think we no longer have it. I know, I have three devices I depend on…my Smart phone, a tablet, and a small laptop. Yet, a few weeks ago, when one died, I was frantic and feeling a little lost. And I’m the person who won’t turn on the ringer on the Smart phone…I refuse to be totally accessible to somebody else’s whims. Shaking my head, laughing at myself, and wondering where my last line would lead me if I pursued it in therapy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

