Posted in Emotions, Experience, Human spirit, Inspiration, Life, Motivation,, My story, Purpose driven, Self help, Wisdom

Beauty beyond looks

I always try to look for the lesson that is to be learned. I believe in the good and search for the silver lining in the most difficult of times while believing that I am an optimist at heart. That doesn’t mean that I like the tough moments any more than the next person, but I believe in the power of choice and how I react to those times is up to me. Memories of “The ugly Beauty Store” have been resurfacing since I finally took the time to write about it. I say “finally” because I carried it around with me for too long, trying to deal with it on my own while finding my way back to myself. I was lost for awhile and  writing about it was a way to get it off of my chest and find a certain level of relief. 

But not everything during my time there was all that bad, it never is and it actually taught me a lot about human interactions and human behavior. Some of it was an eye opener and some of it I just couldn’t relate to. Considering that my job fell into the category of working in a retail environment, I always thought that it was so much more than that. Sure you could buy an outfit or whatever speaks to you and feel pretty darn good about it, but this was different. I encountered many women who had formed a certain stigmata about this place I called my work. I could see the intimidation to set foot inside this high end beauty leader, maybe there was a lack of confidence, a sense of not belonging there, of not being pretty enough, being worthy, perhaps a feeling of being out of place. After all, the employees were a vision of beauty (to the clientele) with their perfect make up and artistry skills, perhaps a vision the customer was aspiring to but was afraid to ask for help. If they did it would have to mean an admittance of being in need for help, not knowing how to apply that fierce cat eye which in return could expose vulnerability followed by judgement. So many hid behind the PC screen watching you tube tutorials instead of seeking human interactions for tips and advice. I always felt very sad about this and I was always committed to show the ones that ended up at the store a good time by making them feel good about themself and by thanking them for their trust.

I was very aware of the feelings my clientele was having and I could relate to the courage that was required to come into my store. It was always my mission to squish those feelings, to teach that there could be confidence without conceit and it was the sole reasons why this was so much more than a retail job to me. It was an opportunity to empower another woman or man, to make a difference in their life, to teach and train a variety of techniques, but most of all to make them feel good about themselves and give confidence where there had been a lack. Those were the moments I cherished but of course there were also the ones that walked in, so full of themselves and who had taken their confidence to an entirely different level crossing into the realm of arrogance. The ones that believed to be “All that” and treated everybody around them as their servant. My pet peeve I might add and in my humble opinion nobody is better than the next person. Some of us are just more fortunate in various ways and should have a bigger responsibility to help the ones that are not, instead of using the often inherited power to become self righteous and entitled. But that subject deserves an entirely post on its on.


During my time working at the “Ugly beauty store” it became apparent how tough we are as women amongst each other. I’m not sure what happens to our motherly, nurturing ways and where they have gone to hide. I learned that jealousy, envy and competition are closely related to each other and it wasn’t a friendly competition I might add. I remember a beautiful woman walking into my store one day. She was humble and kind, not the self righteous, nose up in the air type. Right away I noticed some of the looks of my employees and while in their mind they had to acknowledge this beauty, they also were searching for ways to cut her down, discredit her wardrobe by looking for any fault they could find. Maybe it was a little too revealing even though if they could have pulled it off, I’m sure they would have worn that same outfit. Somehow she was viewed as a threat, a someone that was prettier (in their sad but insecure minds….I say sad because something perhaps out of their control may have lead to that) and therefore automatically became the enemy. Maybe it was this and maybe it was that….nonsense all together if you ask me. I remember helping her and the thought of her being a threat to me never crossed my mind. She was beautiful and I felt a compliment was due and that is exactly what I did. Compliment her. Her face lit up as I did, even though she initially seemed a bit surprised. It lead me to believe that it probably was not the typical response she was getting and perhaps she was more used to the looks that were lingering on the faces of my employees. I too had things that I wanted to change about my appearance, and ladies are we truly ever happy with our looks? We can aspire in a good way but with goals that can empower and lift each other. I never felt jealous or envious of this gorgeous beauty standing in front of me and our interaction was genuine and real. However I have noticed that many women feel the need to dismay and cut down another women. As if it is a way to feel better about themselves and it is a problem. I might open up a can of worms here and by no means is this a one fits all scenario. It merely resembles my own experiences and the pain I felt of others not being able to relate to me. How could I have said those nice things they might ask while I ask if it is really that hard to pay a compliment? Are we so insecure in our own skin that we turn to envy, jealousy and competition in the hopes it will make us feel better. I struggle to understand and can’t side with it if it means that we have to degrade another being, to discredit them, only so we can empower ourselves. How could we ever find beauty in that? I never seen men do that and I don’t know why we do that as women. I realize the pressure society places on us about what the ideal woman is suppose to look like is not helping. Judgment isn’t either and it’s just another form of poison.

We still have the power of choice and we can envy somebody in the right context, maybe a little jealousy can even spark our own motivation to create a little friendly competition. Anything else is destructive and demeaning, leaving a bad taste in my mouth. Looks are skin deep and while we may look perfectly on the outside with our fancy make up, it is our actions that convey the true beauty of our hearts.

My challenge is to try this on, each and every day and to take the time, as it only takes a moment. Do you remember the last time you paid somebody a compliment? I know you remember how good it feels when it happens to you and it feels equally good to give one, you might just make somebody’s day by paying it forward 😉

I hope you share your thoughts with me and I would love to hear about them. I know it’s not going to be the most popular subject, but I know many have experienced this with great pain before. 

Together we can change the world and humanity for the better, one person at a time ❤️ Thank you for reading and visiting. 

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

12 thoughts on “Beauty beyond looks

  1. Love it! People (women in particular) are so quick to think of the negatives in other women. I think it makes them feel better about themselves somehow. But I love this…complimenting someone and meaning it. That means seeing the good in the world and others. And positivity breeds harmony and love. Beautiful post my friend! *huggles

    Liked by 2 people

  2. I know all about women and their attitude towards other women. That’s probably why from my teens I hang out more with guys. It was funny that because my behaviour was nothing like the standard girl behaviour the guys always treated me like one of them. I am very proud of this.
    I was always a tomboy and in my heart will forever be.

    Liked by 3 people

  3. I never feel like I’m in competition with anybody. I love to hand out compliments. I’m pretty sure nobody ever saw me as competition since I was in college. In high school and college, there was lots of competition to be the smartest, and I was one of the smartest. But, after college, I was just the nerdiest, fattest woman at work. Then in the past year, I lost lots of weight…..and I hear I’m conceited and I did it the easy way and that I act like I’m better than my friends who are now bigger than me. I don’t think I do and I find it so strange because I still think I’m the fat nerdy lady. I don’t understand the competition. I did what I did for me. It really was not about anybody else. I love when I see people looking happy and feeling beautiful, and that’s what I get from you, too, Rhapsody. Somebody being beautiful does not hurt me.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. You have a kind heart a Patty despite all the pain you had to endure and I love that you choose never go turn bitter and let the pain ruin the beautiful soul you are.
      People are shallow at times and hurt others with their actions and words beyond belief. I know you can relate when it comes to the perception and fast judgement that sometimes comes our way. It’s almost as if what’s in our hearts does not even matter anymore.
      I’m with you and it makes me happy when others feel good. I want to celebrate with them instead of being jealous and envious and I’m truly happy for them.
      You are too kind and I thank you for the sweet words. I know that society has hurt you in the past but you are beautiful inside out to me and I’m grateful to have crossed paths with you. Hugs…

      Liked by 1 person

  4. Its good to be back, missed reading your posts. They mostly provoke new thoughts and perspectives in my mind from the experiences you have in your life, for that… thank you for sharing this post, plus I hope your doing great. We live life for better days to come and that happens mostly when we hold onto our hearts and let it take control of us. Cheers!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi and welcome back, I missed you and just stopped by your blog yesterday. Thank you for all the love and the feedback, always a pleasure and as always you are right.
      Our experiences mold us in to who we become and there is no easy way around it.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

