Storms…


I just found out that I am on another nine day stretch and while I had every intention to write tonight, I am so so tired that for a moment it appeared I forgot how to write the word “write”. I am spent and it looks like I will have to make another trip to visit the photography vault until I can write something other than jibberish nonsense full of grammatical errors and bore you. 😉 

This picture was taken in Yosemite National Park  which is about three hours away from my home and one of my favorites (another favorite to add to the ever growing list) places. I shot this one from Glacier Point which offers this amazing view of Half Dome (my favorite monument in the park) , the surrounding mountain peaks, Liberty cap and Nevada Falls. A storm was brewing which can happen quickly in the mountains and at times can surprise the hikers who are not prepared. It’s something to seriously take into consideration, even if there is only a 20% chance of a thunderstorm. The smooth granite often attracts lightening like a lightening rod causing for dangerous conditions in addition to the rock becoming slick and people have plummeted to their death. Especially on the steep cable acend or decend of Half Dome. 

Tonight, as I look at this picture, I wonder what you see. Is it the storm that draws your attention, the darkness, or do your eyes wander towards the light? Do you see the glow standing out in spite of the storm clouds rolling in and threatening to consume everything in its path? Tonight this picture reminds me a little of the storms of our lives. The darkness that surrounds us at times and the sound of thunder taking over. Tonight I wonder what could happen if we choose to see the light and the beauty during those times. Could we try to give it a go and stand up against the dark clouds, defending our place in life? What could happen if we stood strong? 

Tonight I am dedicating this post and picture to a friend that is standing tall in the fight against the storm of his life at tarnishedsoul.wordpress.com. A fighter, survivor and inspiration to many while reminding us that nothing is free, that we have to fight for everything worthwhile and that it is never too late to do so. Thank you for the inspiration. ❤️

9 thoughts on “Storms…

  1. Wow! That is an amazing picture. You’re brave, I would have been terrified to be on a mountain top with clouds that looked like that.
    I was totally getting the symbolism too and then I get near the bottom and see little ol’ me linked in there…I would say I’m speechless, but I think we all know I don’t keep my mouth shut.
    But I feel…eh…I don’t know how to describe it, I suppose I feel blessed and thankful that there are people that see in me what I struggle to see in me. Thank you! ❤

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

