Symbolic circle

I got this little necklace as a gift and perhaps nobody could have forecasted the meaning that it would hold. For sure not me as I first saw it and I couldn’t have understood the impact it would have, despite that I was taking an immediate liking to it. Nor the giver of this precious gift and instead the focus might have been if I would like it, let alone creating this profound moment in time. Or was the reaction anticipated, was it an intentional message, was it filled with reassurance, perhaps a promise?
The circle, symbol for some important values and meanings. It is ongoing, there is no beginning and no end, there is only eternity. It is said that the circle is a universal symbol with extensive meaning. It represents the notions of totality, wholeness, original perfection, the Self, the infinity, timelessness, all cyclic movement and God. Further it is sacred and divine, representing the infinite nature of energy and the inclusivity of the universe. 

I loved circles long before I became aware of their meaning and I never expressed my feelings about them. It was never a subject that came up and still, here all of a sudden it was, this little necklace of three circles. Nothing really too unusual or too strange you might think. Lucky guess perhaps, anybody can pick a great present, right? 

Well the story didn’t ended with me liking the gift, of course I did like it, a lot on top of it, but that wasn’t all. The necklace had a meaning all of its own and what followed next left me in awe. Three circles, each made of a different medium, each one a different size. The circles were to represent….
The Past…….The Now…….and…..The Future
It was unknown which circle of the varying sizes would stand for which era and apparently it was up to me to decide which part of my life I was going to give the biggest or the smallest meaning to. This immediately sent me pondering my life and how it fall into place in relation to the little circles. Which one had the biggest meaning, was I truthful with myself and more importantly was the order the way I wanted them to fall into. And if not what was in need of change, what had to happen! 
The Past: If you follow my blog in any form you most likely know what I think about the past. An era filled with lessons painful and good that brought good memories as well as things I don’t care to dwell on. In the end it resembles a time gone, a time that can’t be changed and a time that will never return. I believe that staying too long in the past hinders us from moving forward and if we don’t move forward, we become stagnant with nothing to strive for. Time stands still for us, we don’t evolve and instead we are left behind….forgotten. 
The Future: How much control do we have over the future? Can we predict what is to come? Maybe to some point but even if so, aren’t things going to happen exactly as they are? I believe so and yet we spend so much time speculating on the “What if”, trying to play put out every scenario. For what…to be prepared, to stay in control over our lives? I’m not sure of how much control we have over what is to come but I do believe that we have control of how we react to the things that life has in store for us. For myself I found that staying flexible to rolling with the punches it’s essential and it’s not a matter of how many times we get knocked down, but a matter of how many times we get back up. Keep that in mind and you will have little need to worry about the future. 
And finally The Now: The only thing we will ever have. The past is gone, the future holds the uncertainty of the unknown, but the current moment….the now, is all we will ever have control over. It is up to us how we want to impact the current moment, if we let it pass us by or if we turn it into a lasting memory to forever be imbedded into our hearts. The choice is ours.

A few years ago I came across the New York Times bestseller “The power of now” by Eckhart Tolle. A guide for all seekers to spiritual enlightenment. And even if that is not what you are after, you are still about to take something away from this book to help you defeat the enemy within…the ego. The mind that keeps you hostage in the past, makes you worry about the future and has you contemplating every possible scenario. I highly recommend it to anybody that has questions and it remains a favorite that has helped me transform my thinking. The results? More joy and more freedom to be myself and find my purpose in this world and that’s a good thing. 

Which circle would you give the biggest meaning to? 

13 thoughts on “Symbolic circle

  1. Great post!
    I also have learned so much about embracing the NOW and letting go of the past and the future because there is only NOW. I realized that I am happier and less stressed and I am healthier. I feel more grateful and blessed.

    Thanks for sharing.

    Namaste!

    ❤ BP

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awe that makes me very happy to know that you have found comfort in the now. You are right and a lot of stress fell off of me by putting those things into perspective. Our ego is truly our worst enemy, with many issues being self created.
      Thank you so much for your kind words and for taking the time to comment. I’m glad you stopped by 😉

      Liked by 1 person

  2. I like the three lines most that staying flexible to rolling with the punches it’s essential and it’s not a matter of how many times we get knocked down, but a matter of how many times we get back up…it’s indeed very important to learn in life & have self-confidence. These two things can take us to our life’s goal. So elated to read it..:)

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

