Faith…

I consider myself a fairly crafty person and I love the whole creation process. Letting my imagination run wild, I love to make a project come alive. It brings me a level of feeling accomplished, while evoking the humble pride of making something out of nothing. It is amongst some of the many activities I enjoy doing and if I take too long of a break from it, I do feel the urge to create rise up from deep within me. It is soothing and relaxing for my soul as if it was soul food. People often comment about my creativity which comes alive through my crafts, my photography, in my paintings or through discussions and ideas. It is spontaneous and requires little effort on my part. I’m blessed that it comes naturally and I don’t take it for granted.
I remember making this bracelet, a black leather band with a simple word charm. One little word to make a statement and demonstrate something meaningful. Something that could express a personal mantra and believe, perhaps a state of being. I had no preconceived notion of what I was going to pick and my mind was clear. It was free of expectations, almost as if I had sent my mind into a few hours of recess to let creativity take over. All I knew was that it should make a statement and describe something meaningful. I had many choices during the selection process and in the end it was the word “Faith” that spoke to me. Without further thought I selected it and the birth of this bracelet was in it’s early creation stages. 

I wear it often, but I never thought about why I selected this particular word and why it stirred the emotions it did. After all I was a believer in faith and perhaps that was determining enough as to why this word stood out. Today I might even challenge it and look at it as a sign, a message to be patient and to have faith, which by the way I needed in large amounts. Today, everything has turned into signs and I am more aware now which makes me ready to not let these signs go unnoticed. The mind believes what it wants to believe and I say to go for it if it brings you purpose and makes you feel good. What you believe is sacred to you, customized to your unique life. It does not require the approval of others as their situations are unique to them living their own life, trying to figure what their own path is. 

Believe and faith were two key words for me and without them, I wonder what truly remains and would help us live a meaningful life! Meaningful, a word with differentiation from person to person, a word we have to pursue and figure out for ourselves. As I was writing this I was trying to name people who lived a truly meaningful life. People who knew they did, people who could appreciate their blessings and people who were working towards their purpose. Maybe in my eyes they did, but I also knew that there view was much different than mine. So I wonder what is left if we don’t hold on, if we don’t have the faith to believe? Wouldn’t it be a negative self destroying existence? I picture it as lonely and dark, with no hope, but filled with negative thoughts and much pain. A playground to feed the ego and create misery.

I was wearing my faith bracelet to work the other day and as you know by now it’s much more than just a fashion accessory to me. Helping a customer, I saw him glancing at my bracelet which was followed by a faint shy smile once he realized that I had noticed his gaze. He was not from here, a foreigner like myself which was further confirmed in his broken English as he pointed towards the bracelet, still smiling and saying that it was nice. Thanking him he asked if it was my name and I declined. It made him smile even bigger as it took out the selfish reasons concerned with the “I” (the ego) as to why I was wearing it. His faint smile turned into a huge smile as he pointed towards the bracelet again and repeated “That’s nice.”

I wanted to share this incident with you to remind you to keep believing. Life is tough at times, with many tests that are often too hard to understand, yet they are the very essence that helps us grow into the beautiful people we become. Nobody has ever become wise without seeing pain along the way. Your experiences will help others and one day your strength will help somebody else overcome and hold on. It is bigger then you and others may find a way to believe through your faith.

So please be strong, believe and keep the faith. ❤️

7 thoughts on “Faith…

    1. Thank you very much for your kind words and interest. I will share more of my paintings and photography soon, those seem to be my major outlets to capture the beauty around me or to bring my imagination to life.
      Thank you again, I feel honored and appreciate the follow. Have a great weekend.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

