Creating a meaningful habit


My personal mantra board on Pinterest was still growing and I added new pins on a daily basis. Although I had always liked quotes, I had become quiet a sucker for them as they spoke to my soul. It was motivation and identifying with the journey and the emotions my preceders must have felt at some point to write such poetry of reassurance for others to discover.

I had collected countless pins by now. Did I recall them all? Had I followed all of the advice that I had read, or was it a temporary good feeling that I moved on from without little impact and little overall change? I realized that the impact was short lived, not even long enough to make a change. They say it takes between 21 – 28 days to create a habit. I wasn’t even close. I would be busy for years and years to come if I wanted to live up to all the pins that I had collected. Of course they weren’t all about change that was required on my part or that a new habit was in need of forming, but still…

What is our wisdom worth if we don’t create habits to put them into action? I decided to pick a quote, something that was meaningful, something I felt that I needed to work on, and I was going to make it a focus each and every day. For awhile at least, maybe 21 days, maybe 28, who knew, maybe I would create a positive habit much  faster, maybe it would take longer. I wasn’t worried about the details and it was more about not letting the words just pass me by. I wasn’t going to feel a temporary high any longer only to forget about it shortly afterwards. And in either case, it would make an impact, a impact that I hoped to reevaluate with every passing day.

5 thoughts on “Creating a meaningful habit

  1. Rhapsody, I totally relate to this. For me it’s not necessarily Pinterest pins,it might be the equivalent of it.

    I love books with catchy quotes and witticisms. I’m just that sort of gal. I have seen some catchy
    ones on Facebook, that have made me wonder the same thing.

    My one favorite was ,be mor”

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I love that Terrelyn and those two little words “be more” are very powerful and make you think. I will have to ponder them and see how I can impact and apply this to myself.
      Thank you for sharing and thank you for taking the time to comment and stopping by.

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Rhapsody, I totally relate to this. For me it’s not necessarily Pinterest pins,it might be the equivalent of it.

    I love books with catchy quotes and witticisms. I’m just that sort of gal. I have seen some catchy
    ones on Facebook, that have made me wonder the same thing.

    My one favorite was ,”be more of what you want to see in the world.”

    Striking statement, if I must say so.I will have to share some of the quotes from other sources that I have.

    Terrelyn

    Like

Leave a Reply

