Introvert – Extrovert

My social life was hardly existing these days and only a few routines remained. As I sat in silence, I took comfort in what had become a popular activity in addition to writing. I was reflecting, and I was reflecting on anything and everything. I was searching for answers in my quest to understand. Since my social media break from Facebook, I seemed to have vanished into thin air amongst the people I used to communicate with on a regular basis. The occasional post from me received few likes or for that matter very little engagement and correspondence. I had distanced myself during the journey of finding my purpose. I knew people couldn’t relate with my Age of Enlightenment and I understood that we find ourselves in different places of our life’s, with some people trailing ahead of us while others travel behind us. I was quiet and I didn’t share much and at times I almost felt a little forgotten.

Pinterest had become my new best friend and I pinned everything that appealed to me visually. I had always liked pictures and besides being the family paparazzi, a nickname I had gotten many years ago, I was an avid photographer,trying to capture my vision through my lens. I had an eye for composition and for what I wanted the end result to look like. I was used to my pictures speaking to people and the compliments I received when I shared them. I had even won a photo contest with a picture of a weed. Hard to believe that this little weed that most people would never notice, got an award and public recognition. It was of the highest compliment to me and it came unexpected. But it also solidified what I was trying to accomplish and that was to shed a new view on to something overlooked or on to a subject that was photographed a million times before. What could I bring to it that was new, inspiring and hip? It was my motto and something that fueled my inspiration.

My pins quickly rose to 4.2K and I had lost track of how many boards I had created by now. I pinned a lot to one particular board that I had named my personal mantra board. It contained quotes, I’m a sucker for quotes by the way, and wisdom for today’s life experiences. It was the confirmation for my journey, the wisdom others had experienced and I wasn’t alone anymore. Nor was I losing my mind with my gibberish talk of spiritual awakening which had fallen on to def ears.

And then it happened and the number of my followers started to rise. I was pinning for myself, for my own sanity and for nobody else, but people started to relate in particular to this one board. People started to join my journey and people started to follow me. Anew I felt confirmation that there was a need, something people needed to hold on to, to pull them through, to let them know that they are not alone, perhaps a reassurance that what they were experiencing was normal. I felt good that my research, my pinning and what spoke to my soul, perhaps had created a little corner of understanding and a haven of comfort for others.

Sitting there, alone, with a few hours to spare before work, I let my mind run free. Are we born as introverts or extroverts? What are the determining factors of becoming either? How is it decided, is it a gene or through personal attributes? Mmmmmh, an interesting concept I thought as the thoughts were rushing to mind. I decided not to research what the experts had to say or what the scientific study revealed. It was my own truth that I was after and I wasn’t looking for an opinion that fit the masses based on an x-amount of people. I knew that the answer would be formed from on my own experiences and I believed the answer was very personal. It would be unique to every individual as we all have our own story and it is the path of life that molds us into who we ultimately become.

And with that said, I realized that life had made me an introvert at the age of ten…

One thought on “Introvert – Extrovert

Leave a Reply

