Posted in Experience, Inspiration, Life, Motivation,, My story, Purpose driven, Self help, Spiritual awakening, Survival, Wisdom

Blessed by a homeless man – A lesson for my heart

My mind was leading me back to the poor homeless man. The short encounter sure kept reciting in my mind and despite it happening so quickly, the experience was so profound that it must have left a lasting impression on my soul. I recalled a few things, from the disbelief in his eyes that bared themselves to show his vulnerability, to the moment of gratitude and holding on to my hand for a little bit longer while he was thanking me. It became obvious that giving him money would only be a tiny bandaid for his situation, but it was something, and at least it was a start. A start…To what I wondered, to see another day of the same??? Most likely the same scenario would replay as he was sitting on the corner with his sign and with his dog. It wasn’t like he was going to put the money aside for a savings account or a rainy day fund like the one I had. I wished I could have done more to help and alter his life, but I wasn’t sure what that would have entailed. Was I in any capability to do so and wasn’t I still trying to help myself?I was left wondering as to why my mind kept circling back to him and why I kept revisiting that day. Did I miss something, a sign perhaps, a message, a lesson that was to be learned?

I saw myself driving away in tears and realized the moment that it had been a very long time since anybody had blessed me. He may never knew, but while it was me trying to help him, it was also him who redeemed me in that very moment and gave me salvation. A blessing as if I was absolved from – and forgiven for all my sins.

img_4650

I guess my lesson is a reminder that life is hectic as we rush around, only to miss important moments, perhaps even signs. It’s easy to look at somebody, to know nothing and to form an opinion based on ones own perception. To think that they are perfectly capable of working and getting a job instead of standing on the street corner asking for money. Dare them to become a nuisance and an uncomfortable situation for us. To make us look down or avoid crossing their path all together. I knew that life had rushed me past many others before and I knew I may had avoided encounters all together, some for selfish reasons, perhaps not wanting to feel guilty for the ones less fortunate. Ignorance and not knowing is bliss at times. I felt embarrassed that in the midst of…in the midst of what…I’m not even going to make an excuse of what it might have been that day…but that in the midst of whatever, I had allowed myself to be reduced to entertain such a shallow thought. To be tricked by my false perception, allowing it to become reality of something or somebody, without knowing the facts. To judge and label somebody unrightfully without ever knowing more. In my defense, perhaps there were people that made a living this way but this was not the impression I had with this man and each situation is different just like our situations in the working class is different. We all have a story. But it’s tricky to get somebody to take the time to listen and to find out.

We can think and feel as much as we want to, but we never know what a persons story is until we take interest and slow down enough to find out. Which by the way is an entirely different struggle. With that in mind I contemplate what needs to change so I don’t get caught in the trap of false impressions. I would bet that you have your own stories and you remember a time when somebody judged you. It’s painful and cruel, and it’s unjustified demeanor leaves us feeling as if we are not worthy of their time and compassion.

In my case and with the encounter of the homeless man, I’m glad that I was there and that I could help even if it was in the smallest of ways. I’m grateful for the blessing I received and the reminder to have a little more compassion for each other. I’m grateful to have escaped life’s hectic in the effort to give meaning to somebody else and to not let my late running situation dominate to be all there was. To refrain from judgement and to practice understanding.

We never know what somebody is going through and I will continue to look for signs like this to escape the demands of a conventional world filled with hectic. To slow down whenever possible and to make a conscious effort of getting to know someone a little more.

After all, we are all human and deserve compassion….some of us just have tougher roads to conquer and you might walk away from your experience like this, feeling wonderful, fulfilled and blessed.

Author:

I'm a dreamer and hopeless romantic who believes that there is always a silver lining to everything. Now, inspired by the simple life, I have learned that less is more and that we find magic all around us if we take the time to notice. Life is a journey and a process that is ever changing. We are constantly evolving in the matter of who we are as we align our stars and shed a past no longer in line with our highest self. I don't easily fit conventional norms, not because I'm a rebel, but because of resenting the pull that threatens to take me away from my true beliefs and my unique personal identity. I support the power of "Choice" and the ability for us to be the architects of our own lives. Some of these choices should have something a little wild about them as they form the moments that forever stay edged in our memory and make our hearts beat with wonder. Nobody will remember the ordinary. For myself, I'm a warrior who has fallen many times, who has gone through trails an tribulations and who is no stranger to adversity. After all, my choice remains clear, to get back up and stand stronger than ever. To recognize that it often takes our darkest moments to mold us into who we were meant to be. I have learned to trust the process and stay positive through the challenges. I trust it to be the only way to prevent my heart from hardening and allowing bitterness to creep in. I believe in the power of "NOW" as it is the only moment we truly ever have. The past is gone, unchangeable and the future hasn't happened yet. All we can impact is the current moment. Everything starts with a choice and hopefully with one that has something wild about it and may even scare you to death to execute. DO IT...I promise you won't regret it. This blog is my voice to share my Journey. If I could describe this adventure in short, I would call it "Spiritual awakening" with a yearning for "Freedom" and going after the things that truly matter. To seek a less complicated life that is stripped down from the many obligations and responsibilities that often tie us down. For me it is a life free of rules and regulations, one that allows me to escape the must expectations while jumping off the hamster wheel that is spinning faster all the time. To be on my own time and live each day to the fullest, to make it all slow down by banishing routine and unleashing my creativity/artistic values in an effort to entertain whatever subject comes to mind. And if lucky, to perhaps offer a different view to my readers, one that speaks to your soul vs. the demands of what society might expect. It is one that empowers you to be your unique self and follow the beat of your own drum. I am dreaming big as I trail blaze the path to a new life and becoming a storyteller. I find my inspiration in the little things in life, in Mother Nature and on the trail that provides the adventures and the backdrop for a book someday. My hope is to inspire "Courage" in others who might find themselves on the brink of taking that first step. This blog serves as a foundation for my collection of personal thoughts, opinions and experiences and by no means am I an expert on any topics mentioned. To my readers I would say that the universe connects us by a common thread, we all search and we all have something to say. We don't always have to meet in person to share a strong bond and people enter our path for a reason. Some stay for a short time and serve their purpose, while others teach us a lesson and help us become stronger through experience. And a few special ones remain as the treasures we hold dear over a lifetime and touch our hearts beyond means. In whatever way we are meant to be, I thank you for crossing my path and for stopping by. I hope that I have left you inspired, full of wonder and with a few "Wild Choices" to make....Hugs XO

Leave a Reply

